The Central Bank launches the IX National Painting Award

The Central Bank of Argentina (BCRA) calls for Argentine and foreign residing artists to participate in the IX National Painting Award Central Bank 2016 with the view to preserve, promote and spread national painting.

This year, paintings will only be presented by e-mail to by October 7, 2016.

The jury is composed by Rafael Cippolini, Silvia Gurfein, Oscar Smoljan, Tulio De Zagastizábal and Mercedes Casanegra. The curator of this edition is Eva Grinstein.

In this opportunity, prizes shall be awarded as follows:

First prize acquisition | $100,000

Second prize acquisition | $75,000

Third prize acquisition | $50,000

Mentions acquisition | $30,000

Mentions acquisition | $30,000

Incentive prizes for artists under the age of 35

First prize young artist acquisition | $50,000

Second prize young artist acquisition | $40,000

Young artist mentions acquisition | $25,000

Young artist Mentions acquisition | $25,000

Young artist Mentions acquisition | $25,000

Great Tribute Prize | $150,000

For painting contest rules click here.

For comments please send an email to

The paintings selected will be exhibited in a museum or cultural center to be timely defined. On the opening day of the exhibition, the members of the jury and Central Bank’s authorities shall award the prizes for every category.

Like in previous years, wining paintings will become a part of the pictorial heritage of the Central Bank within its facilities, which has been declared National Historic Heritage.

August 25th, 2016

Compartilo en Facebook   Compartilo en Twitter    Compartilo en Linkedin    Compartilo en WhatsApp