2022 Central Bank Painting Award

Registration for the XV Central Bank National Painting Award is open and will continue through July 15. Argentine and foreign plastic artists—having a two-year minimum residency in the country—can participate by submitting their works through an online form.

The jury in charge of the selection and award process is composed of: Joaquín Barrera, Dolores Casares, Hugo Petruschansky, Mercedes Reitano and Patricia Viel.

Rodrigo Alonso will be the curator of this edition.

The contest has two categories: Artists older than 35 years of age, and artists younger than 35 years of age. In both cases the age of artists will be considered as of December 31, 2021.

In order to participate, artists must fill in a registration form. All data provided in the registration form will be considered an affidavit:

- Personal details.

- Résumé in Word format, with a 2,500 character limit summary—spaces included—on education, career and exhibitions.

- Pictures of three non-winning original works made in or after 2019, regardless of their technique, tendency or support.

  • A picture of each work in JPG format must be included.
  • The name of each file must agree with the title of the work.

The works must have the following measures so as to be admitted:

- Base (width)| minimum: 70 cm; maximum: 150 cm.

- Height | minimum: none; maximum: 200 cm.

Once the selection stage is completed, the BCRA will carry the works from each artist's home to the location where they will be exhibited.

In this edition, the exhibition will also travel across some provinces in Argentina, and the works will be returned at the end of the tour.