------------------ ESP

2021 Central Bank Painting Award

Open registration for the XIV Central Bank National Painting Award as from July 1. Argentine and foreign plastic artists—having a two-year minimum residency in the country—can participate in the XIV Central Bank National Painting Award by submitting their works through the online form, from July 1 to September 3.

In the 2021 edition, the jury will be composed of: Virginia Agote; Pilar Altilio; Melina Berkenwald; Eduardo Médici, and Sebastián Vidal Mackinson, with Rodrigo Alonso as curator. The contest has two categories: artists older than 35 years of age, and artists younger than 35 years of age, considering the date of birth as to December 31, 2021.

In order to participate, artists must fill in the registration form with the information below. All data provided in the registration form will be considered an affidavit.

- Personal details.

- Résumé in word format, with a 2,500 character summary—spaces included—on their education, career and exhibitions.

- Pictures of three non-winning original works taken after 2019, regardless of their technique, tendency or support used.

- Picture of each work in JPG format. The name of each file must agree with the title of the painting.

The format and/or size of the submitted works are:

- Base (width)| minimum: 70 cm / maximum: 150 cm

- Height | minimum: no minimum requirement / maximum: 200 cm

The Central Bank National Painting Award promotes Argentine contemporary art and brings the work of artists closer to the community. More than 9,000 artists have taken part in the thirteen previous editions, evidencing the relevance of this competition. Moreover, the federal spirit of the contest is highlighted by the itinerant exhibition of winning collection across all the provinces in our country.

With this initiative, the BCRA has acquired more than 100 works for the BCRA Collection, which includes original works by Clorindo Testa, Carlos Alonso, León Ferrari, Gyula Kosice, Julio Le Parc, Liliana Porter, Alejandro Puente, Luis Felipe Noé, Marcia Schvartz, Luis Tomasello, Margarita Paksa, and Josefina Robirosa, among other artists. This collection, which is part of Argentina's artistic heritage, stands for our culture and identity.